

BOARD OF EDUCATION SPECIAL BOARD MEETING MINUTES March 19, 2025 – 6:00 P.M.

The Board of Education of the L'Anse Creuse Public Schools district convened a Special Board Meeting on Wednesday, March 19, 2025 at 6:00 p.m. at the Harry L. Wheeler Community Center an Administrative Offices, located at 24076 F.V. Pankow Boulevard, Clinton Township, Michigan.

A. Call to Order, Pledge of Allegiance, Roll Call

Mr. Adam Lipski, President, called the Special Board Meeting to order at 6:01 p.m.

Roll Call

Present: Mr. Adam Lipski, President

Mr. Al Doss, Vice President Mrs. Sharon Ross, Secretary Mr. John Da Via, Treasurer Mrs. Sandra Hernden, Trustee Mr. Shane Sellers, Trustee

Also present: Mr. Keith Howell, Superintendent

Mr. Michael Van Camp, Assistant Superintendent for Human Resources

Mr. Brandon Streng, Director for Technology

Employees and Patrons of the District

Adam Lipski made comments explaining the process to whittle down to 3 or 4 candidates, no more than 5, to go to the final vote on March 31, 2025. He also discussed the process for Board questions to the candidates.

B. Approval of Agenda for the Special Meeting of March 19, 2025

Motion by Mr. Doss, supported by Mr. Sellers to approve the March 19, 2025 Special Board Meeting Agenda with the following change: To add between D and E that the board will discuss and move forward 3-4 candidates and no more than 5, ideally 3-4 to move forward.

Yes: All No: None Motion carried.

C. Hearing of School District Patrons

Mr. Dustin Walker provided public comment for Jody Lesinski, expressing strong endorsement for his qualifications. The commenter highlighted his commitment to supporting LCPS. He believes that Jody is an excellent choice for the Board position.

D. Board Vacancy - Candidate Interviews

The Board President outlined the interview process, which will include a brief opening statement by the candidate, followed by two minutes of questions from each Board member, and concluding with a closing statement from the candidate.

Interviews took place with the following candidates:

6:14 – 6:34 PM	[Dane Ramsden]
6:36 – 6:54 PM	[Cortni McNamara]
6:56 – 7:15 PM	[Chris Kulikowski]
7:22 – 7:44 PM	[Mark F. Deldin]
7:49 – 8:10 PM	[Jeff Cyprus]
8:15 – 8:33 PM	[Jody Lesinski]
8:45 – 9:10 PM	[Zach Eineman]
9:13 – 9:33 PM	[Dale VanDeWater]
9:35 – 9:56 PM	[Matthew Turner]

D1. There was discussion and comments on each Board candidate. The Board president provided parameters for discussion.

Voting to move candidates forward took place as follows:

Dane Ramsden

Roll Call Vote:

Yes: Doss, Lipski, Sellers, Hernden

No: Da Via, Ross Motion carried.

Cortni McNamara

Roll Call Vote:

Yes: Doss, Da Via

No: Lipski, Ross, Sellers, Hernden

Motion failed.

Chris Kulikowski

Roll Call Vote:

Yes: None

No: Lipski, Ross, Sellers, Hernden, Da Via, Doss

Motion failed.

Mark Deldin

Roll Call Vote:

Yes: Ross, Da Via, Doss, Lipski

No: Sellers, Hernden Motion carried.

Jeff Cyprus

Roll Call Vote:

Yes: Sellers, Hernden, Doss, Lipski, Ross

No: Da Via Motion carried.

Jody Lesinski

Roll Call Vote:

Yes: Hernden, Lipski, Sellers No: Da Via, Doss, Ross

Motion failed.

Zach Eineman

Roll Call Vote:

Yes: None

No: Hernden, Da Via, Doss, Lipski, Ross, Sellers

Motion failed.

Dale VanDeWater

Roll Call Vote:

Yes: Da Via, Doss, Lipski, Ross

No: Sellers, Hernden Motion carried.

Matthew Turner

Roll Call Vote:

Yes: Ross

No: Sellers, Hernden, Da Via, Doss, Lipski

Motion failed.

After the voting, there was discussion about the votes, and about advancing 5 candidates to final vote on March 31, 2025.

Motion by Mr. Sellers, supported by Mrs. Hernden that 5 candidates advance to be included for deliberation for the March 31st Board meeting.

Roll Call Vote:

Yes: Sellers, Hernden, Lipski No: Da Via, Ross, Doss

Motion failed.

Motion by Mr. Doss, supported by Mr. Da Via to advance Dane Ramsden, Mark Deldin, Jeff Cyprus, and Dale VanDeWater to be moved forward to be included for deliberation at the March 31, 2025 school board meeting.

Roll Call Vote:

Yes: Doss, Da Via, Lipski, Ross

No: Hernden, Sellers Motion carried.

E. Adjournment

Motion by Mr. Doss, supported by Mr. Sellers, to adjourn the meeting at 10:35 p.m.

Yes: All No: None Motion carried. Respectfully submitted,

Sharon L. Ross, Secretary

Board of Education

SLR: KH